Media Player is under construction.  Listen to tracks on this player.  BUY Little Warrior & Caravan here, directly from Lisa’s website.


You may also purchase both albums at iTunes! and CD Baby!


All tracks produced & arranged by Lisa Engelken.

Selections included on media player are:


1.  Canto de Ossanha by Baden Powell (Caravan)
2.  Afro Blue by Mongo Santamaria  (Caravan)
3.  Foggy Bottom by Lisa Engelken (Little Warrior)
4.  You Wear Those Eyes by The Cars  (Little Warrior)
5.  Sea Journey by Chick Corea (Little Warrior)
Little Warrior by Lisa Engelken (Little Warrior)
7.  We’ll Be Together Again by Fischer & Laine  (Caravan)
8.  Viva la felicita  by Franco Godi  (Little Warrior)
9.  From the Earth (Lisa’s lyric version of Red Clay)  (Caravan)
10.  Detour Ahead by Ellis/Frigo/Carter  (Caravan)
11.  Undertow (Lisa’s lyric version of Nefertiti) Engelken / Shorter (Little Warrior)


Little Warrior was released in late 2013 and was named to the Top 10 Best Jazz Releases.  Lisa released Caravan (2010), named to the Best of 2010 by the Jazz Journalists Association.



little warrior cd cover



Musicians featured on Little Warrior:


Lisa Engelken, vocals
Bill Cantos, piano & B3 organ
Sam Bevan, bass
Matthew Swindells, drums


Joel Behrman, tpt & tb                     Rob Reich, acc
Mike Olmos, tpt                               Brian Rice, perc
Erik Jekabson, tpt & flug                  Dan Feiszli, tamb
Robert Roth, ten                             Christie Winn, bkg vox
Evan Francis, fl                               Jennifer Lee, bkg vox
Carlos Oliveira, gtr                          Carey Williams, bkg vox
Matthew Heulitt, gtr


Art design of Little Warrior by Damien Shay was inspired by this amazing image:




“Perseverance” by Mike Oria.



Caravan album cover - Lisa Engelken CD Art Design by Louis Cubba




Caravan includes 10 fresh arrangements by Engelken and features her take standards, Brazilian and contemporary artists such as Billy Idol and Joni Mitchell. 


Track List for Caravan:

1.  we’ll be together again  (fischer / laine)

2.  just one of those things  (porter)

3.  canto de ossanha  (powell)

4.  caravan  (tizol / ellington)

5.  afro blue (santamaria)

6.  trouble child (mitchell)

7.  winter moon (adamson / carmichael)

8.  from the earth (Lisa’s new lyric version of “Red Clay” by freddie hubbard)

9.  white wedding (idol)

10.  detour ahead (carter, ellis, frigo)


BONUS TRACK:  East of the Sun (available on iTunes! only)

Musicians appearing on Caravan are:

– Adam Shulman  (piano)                  –  Doug Beavers  (trombone)
– Jarrett Cherner  (piano)                 – David Alt  (tenor sax, clarinet)
– Sam Bevan  (bass)                         – Jon Monahan  (guitars)
– Gabe Davis  (bass)                         – Brian Rice  (percussion)
– Matt Swindells  (drums)                  – Chabela Yrigoyen  (backing vocals)
– Mike Olmos  (trumpet)                    – Jeanette Sarmiento  (backing vocals)
– Joel Behrman  (trumpet, flugelhorn, trombone)


when you sign up for Lisa’s newsletter!

Lisa Engelken - Cosmopolitan

Lisa Engelken – Ain’t Dead Yet Zip (4.8MB includes MP3 and album cover)

Ain’t Dead Yet  is Lisa’s swamp gospel song which was released on her jazz album Cosmopolitan.

Lisa wrote “Ain’t Dead Yet” for the SF theatrical production “A Lie of the Mind” by Sam Shepard (Bare Bones Theatre Co).

The CD cover art:  “Cosmopolitan” by Theresa Moore.



Create your own Lisa Engelken Radio Station on